About Alexandria University

Alexandria University is an Egyptian public university established in 1938 to recapture and commemorate the oldest university in the history of the world, the ancient University of Alexandria that was established in the Ptolemaic era and lost in antiquity.

The nucleus of Alexandria University began with the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Arts, then the other faculties, institutes, and research centers were established; to contain today 21 faculty and 3 higher and postgraduate institutes, in addition to three new facilities to be opened by next two years. Alexandria University has two branches abroad, and it has also established the nucleus of four universities in Egypt and three universities abroad.

The University is ranked and considered the second-best and second-largest-university in Egypt, one of the top 12 universities in the African continent, and one of the top 12 universities in the Arab region.

Alumni of Alexandria University include law international jurists, scholars, and practitioners; in addition to international professors, scientists, statesmen and politicians, film directors, and the first Egyptian Nobel Laureate to be recognized in a scientific discipline.

Today, the University is home to more than 200,000 students with over 9,500 faculty staff, over half of whom hold a Ph.D. degree; in addition to the international students and international academic staff.

The University was the first Egyptian university to participate in the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in the early 2000s; And is one of the four Egyptian universities previously participated in both the Vis Moot of Vienna and Vis East Moot of Hong Kong.